New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address a new parliament building on December 10. The new building is a four-storey structure with a seating capacity of 1,224 and Rs 970 crore. It will replace the existing colonial structure that will serve one hundred years in 2021.
Here’s a look at the new building:

  • The structure is expected to be completed by 2022, along with 75 years of Indian independence.
  • The theme of the new building celebrates the country’s cultural diversity. It also combines regional arts and crafts. Craftsmen and sculptors from all over the country will be utilizing a whole new structure, a symbol of the Atmabhirbharata Bharat (Self-sufficient India).
  • On the perimeter of the new building, there will be blocks for the reception, information counter and public waiting area. It is accessible to the disabled. Apart from the main entrance, the triangular structure will have ceremonial access and separate access to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha and the President of the Rajya Sabha.
  • The structure will be built on an area of ​​64,500 square meters. The building has 888 MPs in the Lok Sabha and 384 in the Rajya Sabha. The existing building can seat 543 in the Lok Sabha and 245 seats in the Rajya Sabha. The delimitation exercise, which will take place in 2026, has been expanded with a focus.
  • The building does not have a traditional central hall in its existing structure.
  • 2000 people directly and 9000 people indirectly participate in the construction of the building.
  • The new building showcases India’s democratic heritage, including a magnificent constitutional mansion, a lounge for members of the parliament, a library, multi-committee rooms, ining areas and ample parking space.
  • In September this year, Tata Projects Ltd won the bid New Parliament Building 861.90 crores. Under the Central Vista redevelopment plan, the new building will be built near the existing building.
  • The existing Parliament House building will be suitably retro-fitted to ensure its use in addition to the new building, to provide more functional spaces for parliamentary programs.
  • The existing building is a British-era building designed by Edwin Lutyens and Herbert Baker, responsible for the planning and construction of New Delhi.
  • The foundation stone of the existing Parliament House was laid on February 12, 1921, and construction took six years and at that time it cost Rs 83 lakh. The inaugural ceremony was held on January 18, 1927 by Lord Irwin, then Governor General of India.

(With inputs from agencies)


Similar Posts